Every year in April, the Catholic University of America celebrates student and faculty research with University Research Day (URD). Dr. Christopher Raub, Associate Professor and Chair of the Department of Biomedical Engineering, served as a co-chair of URD 2023. There were 33 presentations and posters presented by School of Engineering students and faculty. Three School of Engineering students won awards and an additional four were finalists. Data analytics Master's student, Gerson Escobar won the Best Masters Oral Presentation award for Parkinson Disease Detection Using Traditional Machine Learning Algorithms and Voice Signals. In the Best Doctoral Oral Presentation category, Matteo Pergami-Peries, biomedical engineering PhD student, won the award with HandMATE: Hand Movement Assisting Therapy Exoskeleton, and mechanical engineering PhD student Binh Hoang was a finalist for Develop High-Capacity FeF3 thin film conversion cathode for Next-Generation Li-ion Batteries. Mina Grace Larraquel's computer science poster A Smarter Parking System Mobile Application won the Best Masters Poster Presentation award. Biomedical engineering student Madison Hughes was a finalist for Best Undergraduate Oral Presentation for Latching Mechanism for Golf Adaptive Device, along with collaborators Elizabeth Caufield and Ryan Walczak. Thomas Nargi, electrical engineering, (with collaborator Arthur Coy) and Noah Miller, biomedical engineering, were finalists for Best Undergraduate Poster Presentation. For more infomation on the winners and finalists, see Finalists and Awards.

Please visit the University Research Day Website and explore!